HourGlass 2.0 development started

I am not sure when there will be a first alpha/beta release, as there really aren’t any major exciting new additions done yet. The first thing I am looking into is cleaning up and optimizing the undo history with a copy-on-write system. (This hopefully reduces memory usage and allows richer things to be done with the undo history, which I will probably name to “version history”.) The second thing I will probably work on is replacing the PortAudio library with a new audio hardware access library I have been jointly developing with Vesa Norilo. Neither of these changes will likely result immediately in any big user experience changes.

I have replaced the Visual Studio 2010 compiler on Windows with Visual Studio 2013, which makes supporting Windows XP such an additional pain that I am likely not going to do it and the minimum OS requirement will be Windows 7. So, sorry Windows XP users…(What, there was an OS called “Vista”…? 😉 )

I will of course still keep the 1.4.x code base around and I will make one or two releases out of that, that will still run on Windows XP.

If there will be a 1.4.x release for OS-X, that will however require at least OS-X 10.7, as will the 2.x releases of course.

Hopefully these news didn’t disappoint people stuck with older operating systems too much. But progress must go on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HourGlass 2.0 development started

  1. Tony says:

    No HourGlass 2.0 for me then, no problem, thanks for the older versions. If Reaper would do the same what would happen?

    • xenakios says:

      Reaper is a paid-for commercial product, so they will have to carefully judge if dropping support for certain operating systems is detrimental or not for their business. HourGlass is free of charge, so I think I have some leeway about decisions on what I will support or not. I understand it’s disappointing if the OS support drops, but still, Windows XP is getting sooooo old now…

Leave a Reply

