Bad bug discovered… :(

It seems that there’s been a bug that went unnoticed when I released 0.9.5 to the wild. Loading of the .hourglass-documents is not done correctly. Namely, it is quite possible the knob/slider positions are not restored correctly from the files. Massive apologies for this, this should not have happened. 😦 A possible workaround (but not guaranteed to work) is to check and uncheck “Options->Parameter static values follow envelopes playback” each time HourGlass has been started and before loading the .hourglass-files. (Note that both checking and unchecking must be attempted, as the menu doesn’t at first show the real state of the option, which is that the option is turned on.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bad bug discovered… :(

  1. ScottAC says:

    No big deal, I have not noticed it yet.On the fun side(and may be a little smile inducing) I just generated a wave file 2:53:03 / 2.2 GIG! HA! It took about 3mins to render. I’m sure if I had the top Corei7 installed, it would have been rendered much faster πŸ˜€

  2. ScottAC says:

    Oh! Yes, the length is intentional as in, I had it set “play forward” and set it to almost minimum. The sound source is 6.79 sec. and the fragment rate is set to about 25%

  3. ScottAC says:

    Hmm, I’ve done a few more “tests” using the nearly the same setting to make the nearly 3 hr (from the 6.79 sec audio )piece, I’ve only got about 30 mins max and about 520 MG. Hmm, may be a bug that rendered the 3 hr piece.

    • xenakios says:

      I can look into how the rendering behaves with extreme slowdowns in the play forward mode. I haven’t tested that much as, well…The renders would take a bit long πŸ˜‰

      • ScottAC says:

        Long renders? Yeah, that is what the HG fans/beta testing are for πŸ™‚ And I do love working with the granular / texturizing and time stretching software πŸ˜€ I’m working with meldproductions’ MOscillator to generate wavs for things like HG and Paul’s sound stretcher.

  4. ScottAC says:

    Oh yeah, what about a manual for HG? Is there one somewhere or will there be one? I know this is another time intensive task, though.

    • xenakios says:

      There’s no manual and I doubt there will be any, either. 😦 It sure would be a big task to write and especially keep updated. I will probably do a bit more tutorials/demos on YouTube though…

Leave a Reply

